The Association was founded in 1967 to foster cooperation among the Higher Education Centers in the Caribbean Region. The President of UNICA is Dr. Radhamés Mejía, Vice-chancellor of the Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra (PUCMM) of Santo Domingo.

UNICA is an independent, voluntary organization that gathers the highest rank officials (President, Rector, etc.) of the universities in the Caribbean region. These officials participate in an Annual General Meeting, the supreme authority of the Association, presided over by a President-elect.  A Secretary General discharges the daily business of the Association and an Executive Committee meets twice a year.

UNICA facilitates academic contacts and collaborative projects; furthermore, it promotes projects that gather institutions and academicians from the entire region.

UNICA supports the regionalization of higher education in the Caribbean, without it entailing not acknowledging the forces that reside in the local cultural history.  

While bearing in mind the needs of a multi-national, multi-lingual and multi-cultural region, UNICA anticipates the demands of the XXI Century and has accepted the challenges that these demands entail.

The following universities and research institutions are members of UNICA:

Association of Caribbean University, Research and Institutional Libraries – ACURIL (Trinidad y Tobago)
Instituto de Estudios del Caribe, UPR (Puerto Rico)
Institute of Social and Economic Research – UWI (Jamaica)
Instituto de Estudios Caribeños (Colombia)
Instituto Superior de Agricultura (República Dominicana)
Instituto Tecnológico de Santo Domingo (República Dominicana)
London Metropolitan University (Londres)
Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra (República Dominicana)
Sistema Ana G. Méndez (Puerto Rico)
St. George’s University (Grenada)
The Caribbean Research Centre – Medgar Ever College – CUNY (Nueva York)
Universidad Autónoma de Santo Domingo (República Dominicana)
Universidad Católica Tecnológica del CIBAO-UCATECI (República Dominicana)
Universidad de Puerto Rico (Puerto Rico)
Universidad del Sagrado Corazón (Puerto Rico)
Universidad Iberoamericana (República Dominicana)
Universidad Interamericana de Puerto Rico (Puerto Rico)
Universidad Latinoamericana y del Caribe – ULAC (Venezuela)
Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Colombia)
Universidad Nacional Experimental “Francisco de Miranda” (Venezuela)
Universidad Nacional Pedro Henriquez Ureña  (República Dominicana)
Universidad Simón Bolívar (Venezuela)
Universidad Tecnológica de Santiago (República Dominicana)
Université Caraibe (Haiti)
Université D’Etat D’Haiti (Haití)
Université Des Antilles Et de la Guyane (Guadalupe)
Université Notre Dame D’Haiti (Haití)
Université Quisqueya (Haiti)
University of Aruba (Aruba)
University of Guyana (Guyana)
University of St. Martin (St. Martin)
University of Suriname (Suriname)
University of Technology (Jamaica)
University of the Netherland Antilles (Curazao)
University of the Virgin Islands (St. Thomas)
University of West Florida & SBDC Network (Florida)
University of West Indies (Jamaica)                       

See more information about UNICA>